Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Simple Whisper Macro Gone Wrong

I have a Plus subscription (about to renew this week), so I don't have all the fancy API alternatives.  I play D&D 5e and use the OGL sheet My players have 'issues' with remembering to use the syntax of /w gm to whisper me. I'm trying to write a macro I can detail for each character sheet (under Attributes & Abilities) that will allow each of them a one button, on-screen click to active and then fill in the dialogue they want to send to me. I need it to tell me who's sending the message so I can reply to the right person. The macro is titled "Whisper-GM". It is located in the Attributes & Abilities section of the character sheet. It is tailored for each character, so each character gets one that applies only to them. Here's what I've written so far: /w gm From: character-name            (character-name) will be the name of the character sending the message) ?{Dialogue} This only works sort of. Of my 7 player-characters, it works just fine for 4 of them, giving me the name of the character and the message they sent. (To GM):  From: Caylee Paul (GM): Help On three of them, however, it returns an error: No ability was found for %{Katinka|Whisper-GM} Paul (GM): Katinka|Whisper-GM The only seeming link I can find between the three characters is that they are all spell-casters... however, one of the 4 for whom the macro *does* work is an Arcane Trickster Rogue, and thus can do some spells, too. I don't get it. How could such a simple macro go so wrong? What am I missing?