Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Showing Tooltips on the Default Tokens

Score + 21
Hello everyone! I'm Buck, and roll20 has been my preferred medium of D&D for my entire time as a player. I have been a casual and professional DM, run in and played several campaigns, and run a long-running oneshot server. In all of this time, I have always been very happy with the site, but I have just encountered something that I find strange; the inability to set tooltips to be shown on default tokens. I have never really seen tooltips be utilized, which is quite a shame, as they are a very potentially useful feature. Recently, I created an expansion on 5e's armor, weapons, and spells that incentivizes counters and knowledge of your opponents. My idea was to have the armor and equipment of all enemies in this game visible via tooltips: "This knight has splint armor and a greatsword, maybe I can use a hammer against the armor or a spear to gain an advantage over the sword". The thing is, while I can save these tooltips for the enemies I design, setting them to be visible does not save on the default token. This creates a strange situation where I will need to go into each token I put on the map and set their tooltips to show one by one, which will certainly break the game flow and split my focus. My suggestion is theoretically very simple: Give the ability to set tooltips to "show" on default tokens . As is, this seems like a feature that was left on the cutting room floor, but I see fantastic potential here. I am planning to use it as part of the core gameplay loop in a campaign I'm running soon, and I would love this small qual