Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

[Help] Need direction

I'm just starting my adventure into JavaScript just for the API. I have no coding background and I'm not even sure what's possible to do with this. So far, I have done just enough Code Academy and learning by example to splice together pieces of scripts to get a token to move in one direction when triggered by a chat event with a variable to select which token moves. You might recognize parts of this as something of yours- once beautiful, now tortured and defiled to suit my purposes. on("chat:message", function(msg) {   if(msg.type == "api" && msg.content.indexOf("!entr ") !== -1) {       var charName = msg.content.replace("!entr ", "");    var patroltoken = findObjs({_type: "graphic", name: charName})[0];    sendChat(msg.type = " ", "/em" + " " + charName + " " + "enters the arena.");    if(!patroltoken) {        return;     }    var direction = 70;     var stepstaken = 0;    setInterval(function() {      if(stepstaken === 10) {          return;      }      patroltoken.set("top", patroltoken.get("top") + direction);      stepstaken++;    }, 1500); }}); What I need next is to figure out how to add the variable token from the journal page to a specific location on the table, add a pause, and then run what I already have. Later on, I'll need to figure out how to delete the token from the table. I tried jamming a getObj helper function in there to see if it would work, but I'm not sure if that's what I need to do. I'm not asking for written code, just where to look next. Once I have this knowledge under my belt, I think I'll be able to finish my entrance animati