Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
×
Create a free account

Can I uses my purchases in other games?

If I purchase a book, can that be used in any game of that system or do I have to create the campaign? Also, can other people use what i've purchased? Thanks to any responders.
1587079012
Tiffany M.
Plus
Marketplace Creator
1) Yes, you can use it for more than one game. I'm not sure if you can use it when you're the player, maybe if you have compendium sharing slots. 2) Not unless you make marketplace additions, what you've bought is yours.
1587079885

Edited 1587080598
keithcurtis
Forum Champion
Marketplace Creator
API Scripter
Modules: Assets from module are generally available only in a game which was created with that module. There are some modules that contain a bit of compendium items, like backgrounds that should be available in other games. Addons: Are like modules in this respect, but you can add them to a game in progress. Art: Tokens, map packs, etc, should be available in any game you crate, or any game in which you are a GM. Only you will be able to pull them out of the Art Library and place them, though. Compendiums: are available in any game you create in which you decide to share, to the limit of your Compendium Sharing slots.. All players in that game have full access to the Compendiums for that system while logged into that game. They cannot access them in the external compendium interface, nor in other games they play in unless the creator of that  game decides to share their  compendium. You personally, will always have full compendium access to every game you are in that uses that compendium family. (I.e. the creator of the game has purchased the PHB only, but you have purchased Eberron, you can create a Artificer in that game.) Exceptions: As a Pro user, you can use the Transmogrifier to move just about anything from any game you have created to any other game you have created. Once a Compendium writes something to a character sheet (say you create a level 10 Blood Hunter from Wildmount) it is resident on that sheet. There is no link on the sheet back to the Compendium. So the Blood Hunter character could be moved to a different game via the character Vault, but unless that game had access to the Wildmount Compendium source, the character could only be advanced manually, by typing in data or copying and pasting form another source.
Tiffany M. said: 1) Yes, you can use it for more than one game. I'm not sure if you can use it when you're the player, maybe if you have compendium sharing slots. 2) Not unless you make marketplace additions, what you've bought is yours. Thank you... So if I buy a players handbook for 5e, i can't use it in a game i'm a player in?
keithcurtis said: Modules: Assets from module are generally available only in a game which was created with that module. There are some modules that contain a bit of compendium items, like backgrounds that should be available in other games. Addons: Are like modules in this respect, but you can add them to a game in progress. Art: Tokens, map packs, etc, should be available in any game you crate, or any game in which you are a GM. Only you will be able to pull them out of the Art Library and place them, though. Compendiums: are available in any game you create in which you decide to share, to the limit of your Compendium Sharing slots.. All players in that game have full access to the Compendiums for that system while logged into that game. They cannot access them in the external compendium interface, nor in other games they play in unless the creator of that  game decides to share their  compendium. You personally, will always have full compendium access to every game you are in that uses that compendium family. (I.e. the creator of the game has purchased the PHB only, but you have purchased Eberron, you can create a Artificer in that game.) Exceptions: As a Pro user, you can use the Transmogrifier to move just about anything from any game you have created to any other game you have created. Once a Compendium writes something to a character sheet (say you create a level 10 Blood Hunter from Wildmount) it is resident on that sheet. There is no link on the sheet back to the Compendium. So the Blood Hunter character could be moved to a different game via the character Vault, but unless that game had access to the Wildmount Compendium source, the character could only be advanced manually, by typing in data or copying and pasting form another source. Thank you... So if I buy a players handbook for 5e, i can't use it in a game i'm a player in?
1587109226

Edited 1587109443
keithcurtis
Forum Champion
Marketplace Creator
API Scripter
If you buy a Players handbook, you can use it in any game you are in that has chosen to use the 5e compendium, whether they have purchased anything or not. Yes, you can use 5e PHB Creator has created 5e game and has chosen to use the 5e Compendium, but made no purchases (using the SRD). Creator has created 5e game and has chosen to use the 5e Compendium, and has purchased PHB (or Xanathar's, or anything). No, you can't use 5e PHB. Creator has created 5e game but oddly has not chosen to use the 5e Compendium. Creator has created Pathfinder or other non-5e game. Remember that choosing to use the 5e Compendium is part of the game settings. Anyone can do it. Even if you purchase nothing, you still have the SRD parts of the 5e Compendium. Purchasing a book just gives you more rules. If you are in a game that uses the 5e Compendium, you can use your purchased compendium books.
Thanks