Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
×
Advertisement Create a free account
This post has been closed. You can still view previous posts, but you can't post any new replies.

Option to block out players from campaign temporarily

1427197291
I think it would be useful (especially while getting comfortable with the Roll20 interface) to be able to temporarily block logon for (and disconnect) the players in the campaign. Imagine these 4 scenarios: - You are testing dragon roar sounds in the jukebox. - You are testing permissions on different items in the journal. - You are creating a map of an ambush, and want to test how it looks from a players point of view. - You are testing how dynamic lighting work, and want to test players can't see the monster hiding behind a pillar when they enter. I know there are workarounds for all these cases, but to me they are not obvious. A simple switch to ensure you as GM is the only one in the campaign while you work will make experimentation with the features simpler and less risky to spoilers. It should probably be very obvious when you are in this mode, so you don't leave players locked out by accident - but even if that happens it is a smaller problem to me personally than when my players get spoilers I didn't want them to get. I have experienced leaked spoilers like this more than once myself, as well having postponed testing because someone forgot to log-off. Maybe being able to do this per player would have it's uses during a game also? I'm thinking if you e.g. want to split up the group and see how they act without knowing what the other group do? Anyway - that was not the initial purpose of this suggestion.
1550175399
Roll20 Dev Team
Roll20 Team
Thanks for the suggestion! After 30 days, Suggestions and Ideas with fewer than 10 votes are closed and the votes are refunded to promote freshness. Your suggestion didn't build the right momentum this time, but feel free to submit it again! We find that the best suggestions describe the problem you are having, and the solution you want. You can learn more about the process of making suggestions on the Roll20 Wiki! More details can be found here .