This is my understanding of the rules: When any character, PC or NPC, pays a Fate point to do something that doesn't involve another PC's or NPC's aspects (power a stunt, declare a fact, invoke one of their own aspects, invoke an environmental aspect), the Fate point goes to the bank. When anyone, PC, NPC, or GM, pays a Fate point to compel someone else (PC or NPC), OR to invoke one of that person's aspects against them, the person being compelled/hostilely invoked gets the Fate point. Brian pays a Fate point to power the stunt I Can Fly! The Fate point goes to the bank. Lakeesha has an aspect I Used to Work for Mr. Big. She pays a Fate point to declare that she knew one of the approaching thugs back when they both worked for Mr. Big. The Fate point goes to the bank. Karen pays a Fate point to invoke the environmental aspect Heavy Fog to get a +2 on sneaking away. The Fate point goes to the bank. Ann pays a Fate point to invoke her friend Jason's aspect I Am Ann's Oldest Friend in order to get a +2 to attack the thug who is choking Jason. The Fate point goes to the bank (not Jason, because this is actually helping Jason, and not the thug, because it's not the thug's aspect). Jose uses the Notice skill to determine that one of the thugs has the aspect I Don't Get Paid Enough for This. Jose uses the free invoke to bribe the thug to leave them alone (this could be done by giving Jose a +2 on a Resources v. Will roll). Then Jose pays a Fate point to bribe the thug again to give them information. This could be done as an invoke for a +2 on another roll, or it could be done as a compel: if the GM agrees, Jose could just pay a Fate point and say the guard willingly gives information because of his aspect. In either case, since Jose is invoking/compelling one of the thug's aspects, the Fate point goes to the thug. And it doesn't matter if Jose is a PC and the thug an NPC, if Jose is an NPC and the thug is a PC, or if they're both PCs. It's the thug's aspect, the thug gets the Fate point.