Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
×
Create a free account

The Loading Property-Ruling URGENT

1617576632

Edited 1617576669
"Loading . Because of the time required to  load  this weapon, you can fire only one piece of ammunition from it when you use an action, bonus action, or reaction to fire it, regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make" .Can weapons with the loading property fire the crossbow with a Bonus Action? I am asking this as DnD Beyond does not have Crossbow under Bonus Actions, Is DnD Beyond wrong?
Let's say you have 2 hand crossbows.  Because it is light, you make an Attack Action with your action, and then make another attack as a Bonus Action (just like you would with any 2 light weapons).  Loading does not prevent this, as you can fire one piece of ammunition when using an action, Bonus Action, or Reaction. Now, let's say you have extra attack.  You can't shoot twice as an action, because only one piece of ammunition per action regardless of the number of attacks you can normally make. The loading property doesn't mean you can just shoot a crossbow freely as a bonus action without having some other factor allow for the bonus action to shoot - it just means that any action/bonus action/reaction, no matter your abilities, can shoot the crossbow a maximum of once. (Can still shoot multiple times in a round).
1617577782
The Aaron
Roll20 Production Team
API Scripter
You'd be better off asking this on a game system specific site.  This is off topic for Roll20's forums. I believe your question is "can weapons with the loading property be fired with a bonus action."  The text you copy includes bonus action as one of the actions you would fire it with.  The question of if a crossbow can be fired as a bonus action is not relevant to the crossbow, it's relevant to the character.  If they have a feature that permits them to fire a crossbow as a bonus action, they can fire one with Loading.  Loading just means they can't fire it more than once with any combination of actions.
Ahh thanks 👌