Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Game Logging Question

Hello! Brand new here. I just started coding 3 months ago and have made my own char sheet using HTML/CSS/JS as a project. Is there any way to install an API into my code that allows me to log rolls? i.e. I press Stealth on my webpage, and the roll result shows on app.roll20.net to the chat log on the right. I have considered  building a character sheet of my own , but that's not what I'm curious about.  Thank you for having me, and I'm excited to meet those who comment :)
timmaugh
Pro
API Scripter
To describe your setup... your character sheet is completely outside of Roll20. You interact with it as a web page, including generating rolls for your skills/attacks/checks/etc. Is that accurate? From outside (not from inside the VTT) you can modify the DOM, but if you injected elements in the chat pane you would only be doing that locally. Your remote players wouldn't see it. You might be able to chase down the event handlers to find the function that would let you initiate a sendChat() remotely, so that Roll20 propagated your result to all screens attached to your game... I've never tried something like that, but I think there are a couple of people around who have explored the "build a R20 extension" route... which might have a lot of bearing on what you're trying to do. Buuuut... it might also just be easier to build a sheet in the VTT and then build a way to port your off-site character data from your remote sheet to a character in your game.

Edited 1663898696
Oosh
Sheet Author
API Scripter