Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Creating Zones

Last week, during my game, an enemy created a zone on the ground but I couldn't find any way to just create an aura on the ground without attaching it to a token. We had to resort to using the polygon tool, but it just felt clunky, slow, and inelegant, not to mention clashing with the aesthetic of the carefully created combat map. Afterwards, I started playing around with various options, checking the wiki, and doing a forum search, but I couldn't find anything about creating temporary zones without attaching them to tokens. I did, however, create a workaround by importing a fully transparent .png and importing it. When I need to create a zone on the map, I just throw down the transparent token, give it an aura of the appropriate size, and, if needed, a name (generally defining its effects). Is there a more elegant solution than this? I expected there to be some default functionality (especially since there I couldn't find a fully transparent token by default) since it's a standard effect for most PnPs, but I couldn't find it. Admittedly, I've only been messing around with the system for 2 weeks, so it's entirely possible I missed it.
Konrad J.
Pro
API Scripter
Thats how I have done it.  Just draw the area with the drawing tool if its not moveable.  If it is then I used a token and put an aura on it.  A fully transparent token might be hard to find though. :)  I just use a marker I create.
That's probably the best solution: A small marker to which you can then attach an aura.