Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Need Macro Help

PhailedGamer
Pro
Sheet Author
I'm no expert with these macros so I thought I'd see if anyone would know something I've missed in my research. I'm using this as the basic template for the rolls in Qin: The Warring States. &{template:default} {{name=Yin/Yang Roll}} {{Yin Roll=[[1d10]]}} {{Yang Roll=[[1d10]]}} What I'm hoping to figure out a way to do, however, is to subtract the smaller of the two rolls from the larger. It's an interesting game mechanic that I can't seem to figure out how to emulate in Roll20. I had considered just subtracting the second from the first and treating any negative result as their positive equivalent but if there's a way to simulate the mechanic I need, I'd prefer that.
Diana P
Pro
Sheet Author
[[abs(1d10 - 1d10)]] would give you the absolute value of subtracting the 2nd from the first so it would always look positive.  If you don't like the colored borders, you could use [[abs(1d10cf<0cs>11 - 1d10cf<0cs>11)]] to move the critical fail and critical success points outside of the values that you can roll. Hope that helps.

Edited 1456617214
Silvyre
Forum Champion
Here's the documentation for the abs() function.

Edited 1456626181
This is actually something PowerCards could help you with, using Roll ID's. !power {{ --name|Yin/Yang --Yin:|[! [^Yin] !] --Yang:| [! [^Yang] !] --Result:|[[ [NH] abs([$Yin] 1d10 - [$Yang] 1d10)]] --?? $Yin = $Yang ?? Balance:|Your yin and yang are in balance! }}

Edited 1456618485
PhailedGamer
Pro
Sheet Author