Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Looking for practical tips for character sheet authors

Edited 1461764262
Hello, I just started learning HTML and CSS from scratch (I have never studied coding or any ICT for that matter) in order to help with the character sheets and eventually making my own custom one. I'm asking for help from the community pros. What are the best practices in character sheet creation? I'm looking for an answer questions like: What software to use for coding? Is there a way to write the code and immediately see/test the changes without copy-pasting a new version to roll20 as a custom sheet after each small change? In Github, are the sheet authors (original creator) the only ones who can make/accept changes to existing sheets or can anyone release new versions? If anyone can do it, how is the quality managed? How much can one usually "loan" from other sheets generally? I don't mean leagality just practicality. How far can I expect to get by "just" looking for good examples of how to do things in other sheets and copying code from them? What would you recommend as the first step (after being to some degree familiar with tags and HTML/CSS syntax) in this process? I have use Github a bit when updating Battlescribe catalogues but in reality I'm a total noob there too. Any tips on how to use Github with the sheets effectively and efficiently? I'm looking for all the help I can get so if you have anything to say...I mean write about the subject, please pitch in. Thanks a lot in advance!
Finderski
Pro
Sheet Author
Compendium Curator