Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

[Request] Repeating Sections to Chat

I don't know what I'm doing, or even if this is the right place to post. I'm a noob and don't know where to look to educate myself in a timely fashion.  I've spent a week on this fighting the script and just need to trash it and start from scratch and this is all like black magic to me. I have a bunch of repeating sections on my character sheets I want to output to chat.   Example: Character Sheet Contains    'HighConcept' //attr not a repeating item    'Trouble' //attr not a repeating item    'Aspect' //From Repeating Section    ...    'Aspect' //From Repeating Section 'User Updates Aspects' , 'Store  $AllAspects ' 'User pushes a button on character sheet to display all Aspects to Chat' Output (something like a power card?): "The Aspects are: '$HighConcept', '$Trouble', '$Aspect', ... , '$Aspect' " I need to iterate through the list of the repeating items and display the output when the button is pressed. On a change to the repeating elements.  Instantiate a string.  Iterate the elements of the repeating section, append each element to the string.  Set an attribute $AllAspects with the value of the string.  A button is then set up to reference the attribute $AllAspects and output it's contents to chat. I'm assuming I need to use a sheetworker to accomplish this, but the sheetworker entry in the wiki doesn't do much hand-holding on this.  I'm sure if someone showed me the recipe I could tweak it to do anything else I needed to, but I'm just not able to grok this.

Edited 1478879653
Scott C.
Forum Champion
Sheet Author
API Scripter