Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Couple of Questions from a MapTools user

Hello, I'm quite new to Roll20, but previously ran my Rise of the Runelords campaign on Maptools on a television, played in the same room around a table. Due to players moving, we decided to move to Roll20 and play remotely. The good news is I have most of my digital content created in Maptools, and just need to "migrate" it over. However, I have a few questions based on how I'm used to things working, or what my expectations may be, and not having a deep understanding of Roll20 just yet. So I have a few questions I was hoping could be simple enough to answer. I'm not trying to compare or contrast the tools, I'm just looking to mimic what I am used to. Is there a way to hide the initiative tracker from the players, or only allow them to see PC's? I've read that I can hide the names of NPCs, and move tokens to the GM layer to somewhat accomplish this. In our at the table games with Maptool, they just didn't see the initiative tracker, and I handled letting them know when it was there turn, and allowed them to hold actions, etc. I just adjusted the turn tracker. Is there a way to get tooltips / popups when I select a token in anyway to reveal the notes, without having to edit / double click the object? Examples are the DM notes / objects. In Maptool, I can click on the object, and a frame appears with public notes and DM notes which I can easily read. Other examples are locations the PC's know about. I have tooltips available for them to read whenever they want. I'm thinking handouts have something like this, but I don't know if I can link th