Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Characters and State

What is the appropriate way to store the player objects for use in the scripts.  I guess its a two part question.  I defined a namespace necro_char_ns which has a method getChars.  The first problem is the function: necro_char_ns.getChars = function() { var currentChars = findObjs({ _type: "player" }); return currentChars; }; returns an empty array. Secondly in this nascent form. as I'm just beginning to code up my script suite, what is the logical way of storing player objects for later usage? My impulse would be to store them in state, but I'd really like some recommendations because nothing is more frustrating than being 3000 lines of code in and having to rewrite a third of your program because of a poor design choice you made in the first 10 minutes.  
The Aaron
Pro
API Scripter
When you say "store player objects for later use", what do you mean? Later in the same execution? Or more like remember settings for a player?  On a technical level, you can't store player objects on the state. It will appear to work, but on restart/restore, it will become a corrupted version. The state can only store basic types. Anything that would work in a JSON object.   You seem to be conflating the concepts of Player objects and Character objects.  Player objects represent the humans you've invited to the game. Character objects represent a made up entity in your story. Players can have control of Characters.