Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account
This post has been closed. You can still view previous posts, but you can't post any new replies.

Where to begin?

Nick S.
Pro
Marketplace Creator
Translator
Hello! I've played a few times different games, but certainly not as often as i'd like. I've given D&D a try, Warhammer 40k and recently i started playing Dark Ages: Vampire with a few friends. Thing is, i don't really have a lot of experience; only in this last game started reading enough to be able to play "decently". In any case, i was wondering where would be a good place to begin; which games are good to start with that are not complicated to learn or too time-consuming. Preferably with a good share of combat but without taking dialogue off the picture. I'd like to thank you in advance for the suggestions and comments. Nick.
Pat S.
Forum Champion
Sheet Author
There are a variety of systems that are considered rule lite or not overly complicated. They range anywhere from the old school systems such as Basic D&D to the modern systems such as FATE. What genre do you enjoy the most? That answer will help people suggest systems. The good share of combat without loosing dialogue is more of a play style of a group than a game system. From you post, it sounds like you would enjoy reading various posts made by Headhunter Jones. He will pop in sooner or later and post links about what he considers is the proper way to play. Those link are a decent read. Good luck.
Nick S.
Pro
Marketplace Creator
Translator