Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account
This post has been closed. You can still view previous posts, but you can't post any new replies.

Need help setting up a homebrew.

Edited 1542357177
TL;DR at bottom. I'm relatively new to the whole tabletop RPG scene, so new that I haven't even played a single session with anyone. However, despite this, I already have ambitions to run a homebrew game that uses the Call of Cthulhu system. My issue however is my lack of knowledge in the system itself. To provide context, I love horror, and thought it would be cool to run my own world ( that is similar to Silent Hill <- Important ). I figured Call of Cthulhu would be the best for this because it focuses on horror, and using realistic weaponry. The issue I'm running into is what seems to be the gist of Call of Cthulhu's system itself. I find that monsters and opponents are VERY dangerous, like, if you don't run or hide you are bound to get easily hurt or go insane. For any normal game, that's fine. I love the brutal reality of it. For my homebrew however? Well, I still want it to be difficult for the player, but not "Oh you decided to fight the monster? One of you is going to have their arm clawed to pieces." Like Silent Hill, I want an emphasis on "You can fight, and you  probably  will win, but it is preferable to run or hide." If they decide to fight, then by all means they should be able to get out with nothing more than a moderate wound. Again, like Silent Hill in a sense. What do I do to mitigate this? Of course in the beginning the characters may suffer to even the most common of monsters, and certain monsters  would  be very d