Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

New player looking for advice on how to get started on roll20 and with Dungeons and Dragons in general

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum, did not think it belongs in the looking for group forum as I am not looking for a group at the moment, rather looking for information on what I need to do before I even start looking for a group. Basic information about me is that I am a complete noob when it comes to pen and paper RPGs, I have played the cRPG equivalents like Baldur's Gate and and Neverwinter Nights based on the D&D ruleset so I have a basic understanding of how some of the dice rolls and stats work but I have never actually played a real pen and paper RPG, closest thing I have played would be Hero Quest which is far more limited in scope. In regards to what type of game I am interested in playing I am open to any setting, but I guess if I am going to start with anything it would probably be either Pathfinder or D&D v5 or whatever is most popular on roll20, is anyone able to guide me to what I need to do before even looking for a group? Do I need to buy any rule booklets or anything? Class manuals? Set up character sheets? Any advice would be much appreciated.