Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

InsertArgs: Substitution Script with Custom Replacement Hooks

Edited 1595596114
timmaugh
Pro
API Scripter
Stop me before I go too far; I might be replicating existing functionality. Then again, as I'm new to R20 and maybe don't know all the ways people typically use it, tell me if there is more that could be done. :-) I wanted a script that could let me modify parameters for an ability on an ad hoc basis (see below for why I wanted this). So, the implementation of this would look like: {an ability} ==&gt; [has replaceable parts ("hooks")] {the script} ==&gt; [has functions that process values for those hooks] Straightforward. In practice, it would look like this... take an original ability like: OriginalAbility: &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;!some_script --arg1:The Value --arg2:Another Value --arg3:So much value If that ability also accepted a "target" argument that would parse a list of token IDs separated either by space or by comma, you might at times need options like: &nbsp; &nbsp; !some_script --arg1:The Value --arg2:Another Value --arg3:So much value --target: @{target|Target 1|token_id} &nbsp; &nbsp; !some_script --arg1:The Value --arg2:Another Value --arg3:So much value --target: @{target|Target 1|token_id} @{target|Target 2|token_id} &nbsp; &nbsp; !some_script --arg1:The Value --arg2:Another Value --arg3:So much value --target: @{target|Target 1|token_id} @{target|Target 2|token_id} @{target|Target 3|token_id} &nbsp; &nbsp; ... Ugh. So, instead, drop a hook into that part of the Ability. In this case, I'll use "__target__" (what you use is up to you): &nbsp; &nbsp; !some_scrip