Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Numeric values (or rolls) in rollable tables

OK, I am very new at this.  If this is not the correct place to ask this question, I'm sorry.  I have absolutely no skills with blogs and forums.  Anyway, I have only been using Roll20 for a few months now.  I've been trying to learn the program and tricks as best as possible to be a quicker and better DM.  I'm running Curse of Strahd now and my players are getting close getting to the castle.  There are several random encounter tables that seem like they would be ideal to use as a rollable table. I have 2 issues that I can't get around.  They are related.  At first, I just wanted the roll table to mimic the random encounter table.  Roll and have it tell me that I need 2d6 of this or 1d4 of that.  However, the output is stopping at the first digit number.   As you can see, I wanted it to display "2d6+2 flying swords", but all I get is the first digit, 2. This naturally led me to the thought of why can't I have the table actually roll the value and report something like '9 flying swords' where 9 would obviously be the result of the roll 2d6+2.   So my question is this, are either  of these two options possible without complicated programming?  I'm still only so-so with macros and api scripts and I really am ok with it reporting '2d6+2 flying swords'.  Thanks for the help and again, I'm sorry if this is the wrong location for this question.

Edited 1600070476
Ziechael
Forum Champion
Sheet Author
API Scripter