Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Images for dynamic lighting?

Edited 1614281286
So I've been using the dynamic lighting feature for many years now and this is something I haven't seen answered. Normally to create an obstruction, I draw lines and shapes in the DL layer with the drawing tool and the software maps out the rays of light and shadow accordingly. Also I know that I can upload images to other layers in the gamespace and then copy them to the DL layer and they don't behave as objects I create in the DL layer with the drawing tool. So my question is this, how does Roll20 know the difference? Or more specifically could I create similar line drawings in GIMP for example, save them as GIF or PNG files with a transparent component upload them into the object, GM or map layers then copy them to the DL layer have then work as shadow casting obstructions?
Brian C.
Pro
Marketplace Creator
Compendium Curator
Objects made with the drawing tool maintain the data on their vertices, a critical component for the Dynamic Lighting calculations. Images will not work.

Edited 1614301290
I believe an SVG file works, and is how The Aaron's Walls API script (<a href="https://app.roll20.net/forum/post/7785026/script-walls-svg-path-importer-for-dynamic-lighting-now-with-advanced-fog-of-war-support" rel="nofollow">https://app.roll20.net/forum/post/7785026/script-walls-svg-path-importer-for-dynamic-lighting-now-with-advanced-fog-of-war-support</a>) works, but I have not used it.

Edited 1614316201