
I would like to think I am a fairly competent DM, one that tends to know his stuff and that which I don't I usually am able to look up. I came across something tonight that even I was unable to figure out right away and had to make a ruling on the spot about. It came down to a matter of wording in a power. This was during a D&D 4e game earlier tonight. The power in question in the warlocks Crown of Stars. Here is the parts that are necessary to help me on. Attack: Charisma vs. Reflex Hit: 2d12 + Charisma modifier (+5) radiant damage. If target is bloodied, it is blinded until the end of your next turn. Sustain Minor: Make a Charisma vs. Will attack against any target in range. On a hit, deal radiant damage equal to your Charisma modifier (+5). The player successfully hit the creature and after the damage was resolved from this attack it was bloodied. Now where the issue arose was whether the blinding effect would take place after the damage from the attack was resolved. I ended up saying no, it would only apply if the creature was bloodied before the damage. I am a player of Magic the Gathering and tend to use concepts from it such as stack order when figuring out stuff in 4e. Anyways I just wanted to put it out there and see if maybe there was a ruling on this or a similar power that I was unaware of.