Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Macro Request: dropdown query that results in a card of info.

Hello,  I'm pretty new to using macros, so I'm hoping this is possible.  What I'm trying to do is make a macro where the player clicks a button and is asked "Strongest Stat?" and gets a dropdown of the standard abilities. Then when they select that they get asked "D20 roll?" and a dropdown 1-20, which each would present a separate card that looks like this (where dropdown 1 is Blacksmith, dropdown 2 is Miner... etc and they get all the info for just that occupation):   So far, I've only been able to figure out how to make the card show, but when I try to make a ? I end up with nothing even close to working.  My thinking was to make a macro for each occupation for a given ability, (all the Str on one, all the dex on one, etc) and have the "strongest stat" query pull up that macro for the info.  If someone could point me in the right direction to start, I can probably figure it out from there. If I'm asking too much of the program, I can figure out a different workaround, but I was hoping to get this to work.  Is anyone able to assist? 
Please post the current macro you have started. What game are you playing and what character sheet are you using?
This is what I had started, but it doesn't work. D&D 5e, regular sheet. &{template:default} {{name=?{Occupation| 1, Blacksmith {{Coin=[[d12]]sp}} {{Proficiency=smiths tools}} {{Weapon=hammer}} {{item=Smiths tools}} {{Clothes=Common}}| 2, Miner {{Coin=[[d20]]cp}} {{Proficiency=Investigation}} {{Weapon=Miners Pick}} {{item=Miner's Pick}} {{Clothes=Common}}