Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

[Help] New to API

Okay, I am trying to get into this API thing to make life easier on me and more fun for the players. I read through the API Wiki (intro, use guide, a few examples and some of the other stuff). I am not a programmer and know virtually nothing of javascript. I have gotten pretty good at using community information over the past few months, though. The first API I wanted to use was the Teleporter. It sounds like a great way to move the players around without have to cut and paste tokens or dragging them all over the map. As I understood it, all I had to do was copy the API script into the API Script editor from the campaign tools links. After that I thought I would be able to utilize the commands in my campaign. I loaded up the campaign and attempted to do so. No luck. I looked through all the notes in the script and re-read the forum posts a few dozen times and re-read the wiki as well (more than once). I noticed one poster mentioned starting a module. However, I cannot find anything about starting API modules or any way to tell the campaign that is should be running an API. Should I have to "start" anything or should the script just run? If there is nothing to start, then I can try to provide more details in hopes that this can be figured out. FYI: I have tried the same things on both the Live and Dev servers with no differences.