Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Weighting a rollable table to replicate a nested rollable table.

Ok, I'm not very good at math, and I want to replicate what would be a nested rollable table by incorporating it into one. This is for a weather generator, but it's not really important what it's for, what I want to do is figure out how to weight the items on these tables. So, first you have (for example) a table that is something like this: roll 1d30 1-8 - no precipitation 9-14 - single cell storm (roll on table 1a) 15-20 - multiple cell storm (roll on table 1b) 20-25 - multiple cell line storm (roll 2x on table 1a) 25-30 - Supercell storm (roll 2x on table 1b) Then, you have tables for effects: 1 - .1 inch rain 2 - .3 inches rain 3-4 - .5 inches rain ...etc. I know that I could make this all into one huge table, but I don't know how to weight it correctly. Can someone give me some help in this area?
I think you need to go with the huge table, one cell for every possibility. 1-32 "No Precipitation 33 - Single cell storm (.1' Rain) 34 - Single cell storm (.3' Rain) 35 - Single cell storm (.5' Rain) 36 - Single cell storm (.5' Rain) ... 80 multiple cell storm(.1' rain) 81 multiple cell storm(.3' rain) 82 multiple cell storm(.5' rain) 83 multiple cell storm(.5' rain) ....