Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

New to this kind of thing, but want to learn. Is my script possible?

I've never done any scripting or coding before, but I'd like to start to learn how. I want to make a script that rolls up to 100 dice plus possibly a modifier, and compares it to a target number, and then rolls the succeses number of dice. Is that possible? Is it too hard for a total newbie. Please don't just post a script, I want to learn.
Bill K.
Pro
Sheet Author
No, that sounds quite reasonable.  Really, using inline rolls, I think you could accomplish it without a script, using just the inline roll commands, though I'm not positive.  But all you really need to do is do your '/r 100d6>4' sort of syntax for the first part, save that value, then use that value to do the second part of the roll.  The real difficulty, honestly, will be learning the syntax so that you can use this as a command from the chat window.

Edited 1376420287