Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Need suggestions on uploading large city map

I'm trying to set up a campaign that is based in Monte Cook's "Ptolus City by the Spire". I know there are lots of city map options out there, but for one of my pages i'm trying to make hi res areas of the original map as not to waste time building my own city map. So far I've spliced together the Large Print Format, but it weighs in at a whopping 69.1 MB! I'm new to Roll20 and still have a few things to learn... any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Gid
Roll20 Team
Check out the resolution on the image in a graphics program. If the file is meant for print, it's going to probably run between 300-500 dpi. You don't need that sort of resolution for web. What you want to do is downgrade the image resolution to 72 ppi (without autoscaling the image dimensions of the map). The standard grid on Roll20's tabletop also is 70x70 pixels if that also helps compress the size of the image down. You can also slice up the image into quarters if the maps are just REALLY that big too.