Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account
This post has been closed. You can still view previous posts, but you can't post any new replies.

LFG/ad/site wackiness

Edited 1392840870
First let me say that I am loving Roll20 and its usefulness in presenting my campaign. Thanks so much for making this wonderful tool available. That being said there are a ton of issues surrounding the ease of use that show classic programmeritis from my point of view and need work. Just so you know I am a programmer and systems architect with more than 30 years of experience, so I am not just grouching here. In a system like this, ease of use is literally everything. Functionality goes unused if it is not intuitive, simple to use, and truly useful. So this post covers only the first impression basics with the LFG system. 1) Right off the bat, I do not care about seeing an extensive application style filter form. Chunk that please. Anyone coming is interested in a game system 1st and foremost. That is 99.99% of the issue. That one filter says it all. So it should be just a list of game systems that link to sub-lists. Done. You can have an extensive filter from there but that brings up the other filter criteria. 2) New games vs old games. I find there is a credible distinction between new and old games. In other words first cut selection vs replacement player selection. Really, this distinction can be handled by a related criterion, activity. If a game is bursting with internal messaging activity then its likely that game is current. Filter the lists resulting from the selection in item 1 above by activity. Most recent is fine, but, along with th