Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Dynamic Lighting Compounding in GM view

Hello, I'm new to Dynamic Lighting, but I'm noticing something when using Ctrl+L on a token's view. For example, I have a Tabaxi and a Dwarf both with darkvision.  When I use CTRL+L, each can see the other's darkvision in GM Mode like the darkvisions overlap and the Dwarf is benefiting from the Tabaxi (and vice-versa).  But when I log in as a Player, everything is fine.  In essence, I can't really know what the token is seeing as a GM because CTRL+L isn't functioning entirely as intended.  Then I add in a character with no darkvision, click on "Has sight" with no other parameters, and in GM mode with CTRL+L I can see dim light because the other tokens are 'emitting' light, but I don't have "all player see light" checked on their tokens.  In Player mode, everything is as intended, the token can only see a torch far away which is emitting light (not the tabaxi or dwarf darkvision circles). So even though it's fine for the PCs, as a GM, I'm not able to 'actually' see what they are seeing. Is there anything I can do to correct this?
EDIT: I had a PC test their token and they can see the other tokens' darkvision as if they were emitting light, when they aren't set to show light to all players.
Brian C.
Pro
Marketplace Creator
Compendium Curator