Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Token actions and character abilities

Hi.  Apologies in advance for what's probably about to be a stupid question.  I'm very new to this macro world in Roll20.  I do have pretty decent background in programming, so that is not the problem.  But, I just want to experiment with simple token actions.  From just experimentations, I figured out the call for initiative roll in the 5E character sheet, and made a global token action from it.  But, I wanted to try something like attacking with a certain weapon, but I'm having trouble finding any documentations on the character sheet to know how to do this.  Does anyone have a link to thorough documentation that lists all the function calls that I can utilize for character abilities/token actions? I hope that made sense.
keithcurtis
Forum Champion
Marketplace Creator
API Scripter
Two quick tools that can help. If the sheet you are using allows you to say, click on a weapon and send the attack to chat, you can click in the chat input area, press the up arrow key, and scroll back through the previous messages that were sent to chat. That can help you see how your sheet does it. Also, if your sheet has such a click and do feature, you can usually click on it and drag it down to your macro bar, making a button. You will need to make your macro bar visible on your settings page if you have not already. As far as educating yourself goes, the wiki has several helpful pages: Dice Reference Macros Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition  (System Guide) 5th Edition OGL by Roll20  (Sheet Guide)
Pat
Pro
API Scripter