Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Blacked Out Map Solution - Bug or Feature?

Hi, Disclosure: I am still learning how to use Roll20 effectively.   Yesterday, I was running a game and I tried to move the players to a new map.  This failed in that the map appeared completely black to the players.  Searches of help, forums and Google suggested that it might be a problem with the player bookmark or settings for Fog of War.  In my case, I was using the bookmark correctly and Fog of War was off.   I was out of ideas and searches.  My players were waiting patiently.  Finally, I discovered a checkbox on the advanced tab of the edit token feature called "Has Sight".  It was unchecked by default.  Checking the box seemed to work!  I did a more controlled test today and confirmed that the box should be checked for players to see the map where the player bookmark resides (Fall of Plaguestone module). Since seeing maps is most often the desired result, should that checkbox be checked by default rather than unchecked?  Or is the unchecked box part of some important feature that I just don't understand?  Thanks, Dan 
Ziechael
Forum Champion
Sheet Author
API Scripter
That checkbox only comes into play when using Dynamic Lighting which you have access to in your games due to being a plus level subscriber. Without the other checkboxes enabled for the DL feature the 'has sight' box has no effect.