Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

A script to copy an item between repeating sections of different characters: Is this possible?

I would like to copy an item in a repeating section of one character's sheet to the identical repeating section on another character's sheet. Is it theoretical possible to write an API script that can do this? Can the API pick up the Information of one item in a repeating section and write it to another character sheet? I tried to find an answer in the wiki, but I'm new to the API and couldn't understand all of it. If this is possible, this could be used to move feats, spells, weapons, equipment and a lot of other things from character to character. Thus these things would not have to be entered more than once.
keithcurtis
Forum Champion
Marketplace Creator
API Scripter
This is theoretically possible. You could do it with ChatSetAttr with a lot of work and some limitations, but I don't know of a script which does this out of the box.
I do this using ChatSetAttr to move items from a "compendium" character to player characters. It requires at least 2 macros for every type of item, though: one to move the attribute names for an item into another set of attributes, then one to create a new item on the player sheet using those attributes. I've been working on a post to share how to do just that, but it's been quite complicated :p
GiGs
Pro
Sheet Author
API Scripter
This sounds like a good job for a dedicated script. I might take a stab at this tomorrow if Aaron hasnt seen the post and written up a script to do it during his tea break.
The Aaron
Roll20 Production Team
API Scripter