Roll20 uses cookies to improve your experience on our site. Cookies enable you to enjoy certain features, social sharing functionality, and tailor message and display ads to your interests on our site and others. They also help us understand how our site is being used. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our use of cookies. Update your cookie preferences .
Create a free account

Request Javascript Criique?

Edited 1594842928
Selfish request: I'm wondering if anyone can provide a serious critique of the code I've presented in terms of layout and overall method used.  IOW would this be an acceptable script or just a mess?  Please be brutal if you think it warrants it. As those who are seeing me post yet again realize, I'm fairly new at javascript, period, and javascript in the roll20 sandbox, of course.  I've had wonderful help to enable me to finally complete a script for the text chat window that: 1) Rolls a specified number of 6 sided dice, up to 8 maximum; 2) Allows the user to optionally specify what individual result on a die is required for a success - "hit" is the term used in the code - with 5 or 6 being the default; 3) Offers guidance to the user if they get the format or parameters messed up. It works, and I should probably accept this as is, but if I get experienced with this and try to help others, I don't want to give bad advice. Thanks in advance.  My background in development has dealt with many types of variables other than variants, which is why I have various prefixes on my variable names. on("chat:message", function(msg) { //Dice roller for Crossfire (WWII infantry wargame) attacks. //This allows players to enter !cf <number> to roll a number of d6 dice //with a default target of 5 or 6. A space and a second number will change //the target to 6, 4-6 or whatever. //FORMAT: !cf 4 (rolls 4 dice, 5,6 to hit.) !cf 4 6 (4 dice, 6 to hit). //log("-->start cf process<--"); if(msg.type == "api" && msg.content.toLowerCase().indexOf("!cf") !== -1) {