
Should Luckbringer of Tymora's level 20 power, Inauspicious Vulnerability, actually be a Daily instead of an Encounter?
S N said:
Should Luckbringer of Tymora's level 20 power, Inauspicious Vulnerability, actually be a Daily instead of an Encounter?
Drewcifer said:
Can I use the Paladin Encounter power Crescent Moon with a melee weapon, even though it's Ranged 5? RAI (apparently stated by the designer himself: http://bit.ly/2y3elEl) seems to be yes, but just wanted to make sure. Thanks :)Crescent Moon
You cut a wide arc with your glowing weapon, drawing a crescent moon of light that careens toward your foe.
EncounterDivine, Radiant, Weapon
Standard Action Ranged 5
Special: If you are wielding a heavy blade, the range is 10 squares.
Target: One creature
Attack: Strength vs. Reflex
Hit: 2[W] + Strength modifier radiant damage, and you subject the target to your divine sanction until the end of your next turn.
You mean Distant Vengeance?S N said:
Would the Distant Advantage feat on a Hybrid Avenger grant double rolls for non-Avenger RBAs against an Oathed enemy?
S N said:
I feel like I've asked this question before, but it must've been a long while back and I'm not sure if I did.
With the Minor Rulings for hybrid characters for taking skill/theme utilities in place of in-class utilities, would it also apply to Wizard utilities gained via Order Adept's Level 5 feature, or not?
S N said:
With respect to the Level 17 Assassin Power Shadow Knives:
- Is the "secondary" attack at-will or encounter?
- Is the Aftereffect the aftereffect of the primary power's effect, or the secondary power's effect?
- ...When does the Aftereffect's invisibility end?
Han S. said:
What should the range on Energy Shroud's (the Artificer E13) secondary attack be? Or could it just proc on any melee attack?
EDIT: Also, would the attack count as a close attack for the purposes of Rushing Cleats, assuming an instance of slide or push is obtained from somewhere else?
Drewcifer said:
If I have Wrist Razors equipped in my arms slot, I should satisfy the wielding requirement of the Focused Superiority feat - could I therefore add the bonus from that feat to an OA made with a two-handed weapon? The feat says nothing about using the one-handed weapon to make the OA, only that I need to be wielding one.Focused Superiority
Heroic Tier
Prerequisite: Fighter
Benefit: While you are wielding a one-handed weapon, you gain a bonus to damage rolls equal to your Wisdom modifier with opportunity attacks.
Connor N. said:
Hey, Im incredibly new to dungeons and dragons, and as you can imagine, its pretty intimidating as it is a lot of very new and confusing information to take it, so I was wondering if there was a discord I could hop in with anyone who could show me the ropes and help me get started and make sense of it all and help me through some of this and help me find my feet. Thanks!
Drewcifer said:
Sorry - follow-on from my Wrist Razors question: in the minor rulings doc, it says that "Unless specified otherwise, a weapon’s (or implement’s) property affects attack powers only when they are delivered with that weapon" - does this also stand for item powers? If I have, say, Opportunistic Weapon wrist razors equipped, can I use their Daily power to trigger an additional OA using my 2h weapon? The item's power says:
"Use this power when an enemy provokes an opportunity attack. Make an additional opportunity attack against the provoking creature"
not
"Use this power when an enemy provokes an opportunity attack. Make an additional opportunity attack with this weapon against the provoking creature"
Matt W. said:
The wording intentionally avoids item powers, with the obvious exception of weapon powers like that of weapon of speed, which clearly indicates the weapon the power must be used with.
You totally can have an item more than 4 levels above your character. Check out rule #1 : https://app.roll20.net/forum/post/1213982/rules-on-itemsFred D. said:
Just looking at the items for sale and thinking of the budget for a new character. There was a LFR rule about not using items that are more than 4 levels about your character. However, I believe that was specific to LFR organized play rather than a general 4e rule. Does it apply here?
Fred D. said:
Just looking at the items for sale and thinking of the budget for a new character. There was a LFR rule about not using items that are more than 4 levels about your character. However, I believe that was specific to LFR organized play rather than a general 4e rule. Does it apply here?
Matt W. said:
Fred D. said:
Just looking at the items for sale and thinking of the budget for a new character. There was a LFR rule about not using items that are more than 4 levels about your character. However, I believe that was specific to LFR organized play rather than a general 4e rule. Does it apply here?
For a new character, you might be advised against it, though. When making a character, you should be sure it has "The big 3": A magic weapon/implement, a magic armor, and a magic neck slot. If you blow all your money in one place, your character will be sad/dead rather quickly.
Fred D. said:
Matt W. said:
Fred D. said:
Just looking at the items for sale and thinking of the budget for a new character. There was a LFR rule about not using items that are more than 4 levels about your character. However, I believe that was specific to LFR organized play rather than a general 4e rule. Does it apply here?
For a new character, you might be advised against it, though. When making a character, you should be sure it has "The big 3": A magic weapon/implement, a magic armor, and a magic neck slot. If you blow all your money in one place, your character will be sad/dead rather quickly.
I would totally do it though. See here: https://www.myth-weavers.com/sheet.html#id=1391489
Edit: Here's the logic of the "optimization"
Normally the Bola Training option to do no damage but instead immobilize the target isn't that great a choice. If you declare it in advance and then roll a natural 20 you think "Damn, I shouldn't have opted to do no damage because you can't add extra damage (the crit dice) to a no-damage attack". Also, the problem of the Distance Weapon is that there are no crit dice. Normally, when you roll a natural 20 you think "Damn, I should use a real weapon instead of this stupid thing because now I don't get any extra crit damage'. But, if you use a distance bola with bola training you don't get the crit dice extra damage for not one but two reasons. See, they can only punish you once though! Ha.
Han S. said:
If I have a hybrid where one side has Psionic Augmentation and the other doesn't, and I want to PMC, would that qualify as having Psionic Augmentation in your "first" class as in PHB3 p. 194?
Scottie W. said:
I was wondering if Student of Caiphons' F16 only triggers when a cursed enemy is reduced to 0 hit points or if Bloodied Boon will affect that. I have heard two different things on the matter and as it reads it would only be when reduced to 0. I throw it up here that way I know which route to take for when I use it.
Han S. said:
How many times can Brilliant Counterstrike (Monk Attack 7) proc the "1d8 damage as a free action" part of the hit line? I assumed it was once, but I'm not actually sure given the way it's written.
Would this count towards the 1/turn free action attack limit, then?baldhermit said:
Han S. said:
How many times can Brilliant Counterstrike (Monk Attack 7) proc the "1d8 damage as a free action" part of the hit line? I assumed it was once, but I'm not actually sure given the way it's written.
Why would you think you could use it only once? That is not what the power says,
Han S. said:
Would this count towards the 1/turn free action attack limit, then?baldhermit said:
Han S. said:
How many times can Brilliant Counterstrike (Monk Attack 7) proc the "1d8 damage as a free action" part of the hit line? I assumed it was once, but I'm not actually sure given the way it's written.
Why would you think you could use it only once? That is not what the power says,
Han S. said:
If I buy/obtain and later resell a Spellsoul Blade, would it keep the three elements I chose?
Han S. said:
According to the errata, the binder powers associated with the Gloom Pact, Echoing Dirge and Shadow Warp are level 1 Warlock powers... for some reason.
- Would this suggest the binder powers of the other two pacts should also be leveled powers? Or perhaps would this particular errata maybe be in error?
- If the errata is not in error, are these powers obtainable by proper warlocks?
Nikolai M. said:
With the Gauntlet Axe in the compendium it states it can keep the hand free, and in the minor rulings it states it allows you to hold an item. My question is when wielding the Gauntlet Axe as either a weapon or arm slot will it still meet the requirement of having a free hand for powers/grabs as well or only for holding items?
https://app.roll20.net/forum/post/1213982/rules-on...Jigurd said:
- are there any banned items?
Sounds like a fantastic idea.Jigurd said:
- Current concept is a Blademaster type Barbarian who channels their primal rage into martial arts; will people look at me funny and/or throw rotten fruit if I go Rageblood barb Sohei?
Correct. You are charging, thus you get all bonuses that apply on charging. You are also indeed not making a melee basic attack, as Howling Strike lets you use it instead, thus you do not get bonuses that you would only get when making a melee basic attack.Jigurd said:
- Concerning replacing basic attacks; Howling Strike (lvl. 1 Barbarian at-will) reads that you use it 'in place of' a melee basic attack during a charge. I take this to mean anything that modifies an MBA does *not* apply to it, but anything that directly affects charges *does*. Am I correct in this?
I'd like to see an example of what you're thinking, but in general no, you can't use a power or item that lets you shift 2 squares as part of the charge action.Jigurd said:
- Charge p287 of the PHB says that it requires you to move at least 2 squares from your starting position for the charge to be valid. Does this have to be as part of explicitly moving for the charge, or can the movement happen as a result of a power or item? If something causes me to Shift 2, can I use that as part of the charge, basically?
Han S. said:
Do at-will powers that you gain an encounter use of (e.g. via Arcane Initiate, Pact Initiate) count as encounter powers or at-will powers?
Han S. said:
Do at-will powers that you gain an encounter use of (e.g. via Arcane Initiate, Pact Initiate) count as encounter powers or at-will powers?
The context here would be for the Resourceful Magician E11, Twinned Spell:Matt W. said:
In what context?
The short answer is "it depends. Check with the GMs before doing something questionable." Ryan phrased it thus: "Simple solution: Any time it benefits your build it isn't that keyword." and while that's a gross oversimplification, remember that it's best to build things around game elements that are unquestionable, as opposed to relying on things that are suspicious and having your character thrown out a couple levels into playing them.This is a fair point, though this isn't a terribly important game interaction to the build I was thinking of. I could work with things if it's ruled either way.
Han S. said:
The context here would be for the Resourceful Magician E11, Twinned Spell:Matt W. said:
In what context?
"Trigger: You hit or miss with an arcane at-will attack power, or you hit no targets with a melee or ranged arcane encounter attack power.
Effect: You regain the use of and immediately use the triggering power."
And the specific context I am thinking of is: if I acquired Freezing Burst via Arcane Initiate and used it, could I reuse it with Twinned Spell or not? Alternatively, if I acquired Hypnotism, could I use it after hitting or missing, or just missing?
Matt W. said:The short answer is "it depends. Check with the GMs before doing something questionable." Ryan phrased it thus: "Simple solution: Any time it benefits your build it isn't that keyword." and while that's a gross oversimplification, remember that it's best to build things around game elements that are unquestionable, as opposed to relying on things that are suspicious and having your character thrown out a couple levels into playing them.This is a fair point, though this isn't a terribly important game interaction to the build I was thinking of. I could work with things if it's ruled either way.